Depending on which state you reside in, you might need a Boater Education Card before you head out onto the water. Boating laws vary by state and if you're unsure about what standard's yours may follow, click the link below to check your state's regulations.
Safety is our #1 priority for your trip out on the water, and we want you to be as prepared as possible. By taking the initiative to further your Boating Saftey Education, we will offer the $50 Safe Boating Discount* to houseboat captains who have completed a state approved, NASBLA! certified, Boating Safety Course.
Here's the deal:
Upon check in, be sure to present your state issued Safe Boating Course ID card and you will receive a $50 discount on your houseboat rental. There is only one $50 discount allowed per houseboat rental and the card holder must be the contract signer.
Not certified yet?
If you have not completed a safe boating course yet, it's not too late. You can either complete an in-person or on-line course from your state of residence (see links below). You can also or you have the option to complete a classroom course from the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary or United States Power Squadron.
Don't forget your crew!
Many captains also find it handy to have their crew review a safety course before their voyage. These courses are a great way to get everyone to start thinking about the trip in advance and you will find that they make for safer boating as well. Many of the online courses are free to review, easy to read, include interesting illustrations and videos, and even offer practice tests free of charge.
Check out your state's website for certification details:
Nevada Department of Wildlife
Note: "Boaters born on or after January 1, 1983 must complete a boater education course, approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators to operate a boat with more than a 15-horsepower motor on Nevada's interstate waters, including Lake Tahoe, Lake Mead, Lake Mohave and Topaz Lake."
Nevada online class: boaterexam.com
Nevada online class: boat-ed.com
Missouri State Water Patrol
Note: "Anyone born after January 1, 1984, must successfully complete a boating safety education course to legally operate any vessel on the lakes of Missouri, including personal watercraft."
To receive the $50 discount, the full boating safety course must be completed and certification card presented at check in.
Missouri online class link: boated.com
Check out these other fun sites for more water safety tips:
The United States Coast Guard - boating safety page
*$50 discount only valid for houseboat rentals at marinas that Forever Resorts has houseboat rentals at. Discount not applicable to other small watercraft rentals (ski boats, PWCs, fishing boats, etc.).
|Sign Up for News & Specials|